Triple 3 Inside Bars Indicator and Scanner for ThinkorSwim

@leo2022 Thank you very much for creating and sharing your code. I added to my chart and created a watchlist. Added studies (TOS VWAP_scan and MovingAverage_Scan) for the price above vwap and 20 EMA greater than 5% within 20 periods for reliability no matter what pattern shows/ploted. Thank you again.

Good luck all!

cabe1332

Last edited:

Join useThinkScript to post your question to a community of 21,000+ developers and traders.

So this is my first time posting in here. Just made my account so still getting familiar to all of this. I am a day trader that trades penny stocks and there was a custom candlestick pattern that I wanted to scan for. So I just went to the patterns place in TOS and made my own. Except I quickly noticed some stuff that weren't working out with just the basic options. So I was hoping to see if anybody could dive deeper into the thinkscript code to help me achieve what I'm striving for.

maxresdefault.jpg
This image is a baseline of something I'm looking for. Probably more of a red candle towards the middle body of the green candle but something like this.

I want to make the simple code I have and make it scan for stocks that have a greater than 20% move to the upside on that big candle. Then the red candle following that to be somewhere near half of the green candle move. This will show in the scans possible stocks that have potential to shoot upwards thus allowing us to use price action and volumetricsfor confirmation on the play.
Using the drop down for making my custom pattern I've achieved this code:

Code:
def IsUp = close > open;
def IsDown = close < open;
def IsDoji = IsDoji();
def avgRange = 0.05 * Average(high - low, 20);
plot PatternPlot =
    IsUp[1] and
    IsDown[0] and
    low[1] < low[0] and
    open[1] <= close[0] and
    high[1] > high[0] and
    close[1] >= open[0];

PatternPlot.SetPaintingStrategy(PaintingStrategy.BOOLEAN_POINTS);