sum vs fold

markt

I'm a newbie to thinkscript. As such I decided to write my own little piece of code to calculate the std of a set of data. To do this I used the sum function. However, when I compared the results to the inbuilt std formula there was a difference between my calculation and that of the inbuilt function. When I looked at the code for the inbuilt function (provided in the thinkscript help pages) I noticed that it was using the fold command rather than the sum command.

I must admit I am totally lost as to why my code doesn't give the same answer. I have posted it below. Have I just made a silly booboo or is there something fundamentally wrong with my understanding (or both?). (I was expecting the output of my code to be a straight line with yy=0.)

script getstd_diff {
input y = close;
input length = 50;

def av_y= Average(y,length);
def mystd = Sqrt( Sum(Sqr(y-av_y),length)/length );
def inbuilt = StDev(close,length);
plot difff=mystd-inbuilt;
}

declare lower;
input length = 50;
plot yy=getstd_diff(close,length);

Join useThinkScript to post your question to a community of 21,000+ developers and traders.

my apologies... here is the stdDev help function code copied from the thinkscript reference manual. As I understand it, StDev and StDevTS give identical results. Therefore I assume that the inbuilt calculation of standard deviation is equivalent to the fold based expression "Sqrt( (fold i = 0 to length with SD do SD + Sqr(GetValue(data, i) - avgData) ) / length);"

script StDevTS {

input data = close;

input length = 12;

def avgData = Average(data, length);

plot StDevTS1 = Sqrt( (fold i = 0 to length with SD do SD + Sqr(GetValue(data, i) - avgData) ) / length);

}

declare lower;

input length = 10;

plot StDev1 = StDev(close, length);

plot StDev2 = StDevTS(close, length).StDevTS1;

no need for apologies. just want people to think about providing as much info as
possible , to make it easier for others to help them.