I have always struggled with this since day one

trading4life

I have been trading for two years now, and sadly i cannot say im a consistently proftiable trader. and iv gotten to a point where i truly believe it has something to do with my R/R. I have struggled constantly with this due to the fact that I dont know exactly how many shares to take each trade how much to risk each trade yes i have a mental stop but maybe im taking profits to soon?, i trade the chart if i see something during the trade that is very concerning ill cut it, but then that leads to crappy R/R anyways i know its hard and so subjective. urgh. but if anyone could give me good advice i would appreciate it. its been 2 years very long time lol

Join useThinkScript to post your question to a community of 21,000+ developers and traders.

There are RR studies on this forum that calculate it for you (you would have to search for it)

I would say only trade a handful of tickers. You can manage your Risk/reward by trading options as opposed to shares (by spending a fraction of the cost on an option rather than buying 100 shares outright).

Do you use indicators or price action? There are some very good indicators on this forum as I am sure you know.

Did you ever end up getting an answer for this question? The best way to do risk reward is to understand your $$ risk that you are willing to risk and align that with your stop on the chart.

So the formula for the perfect amount of shares is
Code:
shares = $risk / dollar amount till stop

So an example entry at 1.55 and you want to risk $200 on this trade and you want to stop out at 1.40.

You should be getting 1333 shares.
Code:
shares = 200/(1.55-1.40) = 1333

This massively helped me with sizing and being comfortable with how much im risking. I know im a little late but I hope this helps.

Last edited by a moderator: