Coding Help (fold, index and while)

V

venus360

VIP
Can someone help with the thinkscript code to do the following? (I am a thinkscript newbie. I see the reference has fold, index, and while examples but don't know how to do program)

Let us assume following sequence of Up or Down points happened for the past 8 (or n) periods.
+1, +2, +3, -1, -2, -3, +4, +5
Bonus (If I can give more weightage to the most recent periods, it would be great)

I want to store in a variable upPoints adding up +1,+2,+3, +4,+5 = 15
I want to store in a variable downPoints adding up -1, -2, -3 = 6

I then want to plot (the ratio) upPoints / downPoint

Thanks a lot.

markos

markos

VIP
@venus360 welcome to useThinkScript. This post is hard to follow. Obviously if you've been trading futures for 10+ years, you know what you're doing.
Please post much more detail: Tick Chart, Candle Chart, Time Frame, Where & How will it be used?
Your wording, "store in a variable" needs clarification e.g. Up or Down periods, plotted in a label or lower, line chart or dots above the candle at (8 or n)... Help us help you.

E

eddielee394

At first glance, you'll need to write a function that filters neg/pos values from the array & set each new array to it's own variable (upPoints, downPoints). Then recursively iterate over each in order to add the values together (similar to the reduce() method in javascript). If i have some time after market today i'll try to post some example code.

V

venus360

VIP
Thank you @markos

I am sorry, if it is not clear. Here is more explanation.

I am looking to find Divergence of price and this ratio (up-down points) using the following method and back test for results.

I will use it with Daily charts but any period more than 15 mins should provide good results. Candle chart for price and plotting this ratio as a line (just like a moving average).

Let us assume following sequence of Up or Down points happened for the past 8 (or n) periods.
+1, +2, +3, -1, -2, -3, +4, +5