ADX Cross backtesting strategy

D

dmkoch

I am new to thinkscript and would appreciate any help in writing the thinkscript code for a buy/sell strategy based on ADX and DMI+; DMI- trends on a 30m chart:

Long Entry (LE)
  • Using a 30 min stock chart along with the DMI(14, Wilders) study
  • Starting with the condition that ADX <20 and below both DI- and DI+
  • When the ADX crosses above DI-, then show the LE symbol on the chart
  • When the current ADX moves lower than the previous ADX one bar ago, then show LE - Exit symbol on the chart

Short Entry (SE)
  • Using a 30 min stock chart along with the DMI(14, Wilders) study
  • Starting with the condition that ADX <20 and below both DI- and DI+
  • When the ADX crosses above DI+, then show the LE symbol on the chart
  • When the current ADX is lower than the previous ADX one bar ago, then show LE - Exit symbol on the chart
Any assistance on writing my strategy would be much appreciated.

V

VicD

You mean like this or on the candlestick chart? Change arrows, I just changed colors so screwed up the colors a bit.

Code:
#aADX_DMI2 With slow moving average of ADX and Arrows

declare lower;
input MACDfastLen = 10;
input MACDslowLen = 30;
input MACDLen = 10;
input showADX_DMI = { "No", default "Yes"};
input showMACD = { "No", default "Yes"};
input invertNegMACD = { "Yes", default "No"};
input MACDHeight = 50;
input MACDWidth = 3;
input ADX_Avg = 3;
input DMI_Len = 9;
input No_Trend = 20;
input Low_Trend = 45;
input Strong_Trend = 60;

def fastAvg = EMA2(data = close, "smoothing factor" = 2 / (1 + MACDfastLen));
def slowAvg = EMA2(data = close, "smoothing factor" = 2 / (1 + MACDslowLen));
def Value = fastAvg - slowAvg;
def nextAvg = ExpAverage(data = Value, MACDLen);
def HistoBar = Value - nextAvg[1];
def HiScale = HighestAll(HistoBar);
def LoScale = AbsValue(LowestAll(HistoBar));
def BarScale = if HiScale > LoScale then HiScale else LoScale;