Trailing 5 Day Closing Average

mbrandau

Hello all,

I am a newbie of sorts, specifically to ThinkorSwim. I have my charts set up almost perfectly, the way I prefer. There is 1 thing I am looking for which is a numerical number somewhere on each chart that states the past 5 days closing average. Just a number, no trend lines, no multiple numbers. Just 1 number that tells me the average last 5 days closing average, including most recent. Is there something I can use or a simple script someone can make for me? This would help enormously as currently I have several every morning that I do math on in Excel and it takes up a lot of time.

Thank you in advance.

Mark

A fold should do the trick!

Set this to the day chart. It will add a label of the average close for the last 5 days.

Code:
# Dan Dude's Averager'r
# Get average last 5 periods

input length = 5; # last 5 periods

def price = close;
# The fold
plot sum = fold n = 0 to length
with p
do p + GetValue(price, n, length - 1) / length;
# end the fold
AddLabel(yes, "The Average for the Last " + length + " Days is " + sum);

Hope this helps!

Last edited:

Join useThinkScript to post your question to a community of 21,000+ developers and traders.

Will this work on my preferred chart of 20 days, 1 hour?

Hmm...the average number seems to change with the different chart times. 180 days, 20 days, 5 days, etc all give different averages which should be impossible

No, you had to set the chart manually.

*I edited the script below to set the agg period for you. It will now pull the close of the last 5 days on any chart.

Code:
# Dan Dude's Averager'r

input Agg = AggregationPeriod.DAY;

def price = close(period = agg);
# The fold
with p
do p + GetValue(price, n, length - 1) / length;
# end the fold

Yeah man, thank you very much. Works on all charts. Average doesn't change with chart time periods. I tested it manually and perfect. Thank you this saves me probably 60-90 minutes in the morning.

Thanks for the like.