Sorting Custom Watch List Column

TOSUser21

I have created the following Custom Watch List Column:

Code:
def capital = (volume*(close-close from 1 bars ago));
AddLabel(yes," " + AsDollars(capital));

The calculation works, but I am unable to sort the column in ascending or descending order. Do you know how I can edit this script so that I can sort the column accurately?

Thank you in advance for your help.

MerryDay

VIP
Well, technically it is sorting. But it sorting on the 1st number which isn't helpful. Anyway, I have seen this behavior when mixing volume and price in the same expression. I don't know of any way of overcoming this limitation in TOS. But I am not an expert. Perhaps someone will chime in with a way to convert it to an absolute value that would perhaps be sortable. At the moment you are SOL. sorry.

TOSUser21

Well, technically it is sorting. But it sorting on the 1st number which isn't helpful. Anyway, I have seen this behavior when mixing volume and price in the same expression. I don't know of any way of overcoming this limitation in TOS. But I am not an expert. Perhaps someone will chime in with a way to convert it to an absolute value that would perhaps be sortable. At the moment you are SOL. sorry.
MerryDay—thank you for your follow-up reply. Hopefully, someone else may have a resolution. Take care!

rad14733

VIP
@TOSUser21 The problem you are encountering has to do with the fact that when using AddLabel() for a Custom WatchList Column all values are considered Strings... By switching to plot instead of AddLabel() you will eliminate this issue... The following code will work as expected but without the AsDollars() which can only be used with AddLabel() and AddChartBubble() to display numbers as Strings... You can't have it both ways... Forget about the dollar signs as they aren't required, nor should you be worried about how many minimum decimals points are displayed...

Ruby:
def capital = volume * (close - close[1]);