so how come NO variables?

lewac1

yeah NO VARIABLES. they call them variable but they're in fact CONSTANTS. Because once you assign and "alleged" variable to something YOU CAN NOT CHANGE IT! Thus its virtually impossible to write a complex script here.

now "they" say you define a "variable" using the "def" declaration. sorry. that ain't gonna work, folks. thus the workaround is we go NUTS drilling down because we only use the thing ONCE! happy coding? NOT! and I notice there's only THREE posts relating to the word "variable"? aren't they're any coders in this forum? yeah this is a humongous issue. sure. say I wanna write a trigger that displays on the chart when certain conditions are met. maybe I don't like big wicks and would like to avoid them when trading INTRADAY. wouldn't THAT be a prudent thing to be doing? sure small wicks get my attention, see? well its not gonna happen HERE!

Anyhow I'm a JAVA programmer of late but many, many others got my attention in what has become a very distant past...

Solution
This is just some random code for demonstration, it will check if the close is above the open. if it is, it will check the macd versus the previous bar. If they are both up, it will say buy. If the close is not above the open, it will not bother to check the macd at all.

Ruby:
declare lower;
def x;
def y;
def cond;
def z = macd();
if close > open {
    x = yes;
    if z > z[1] {
        y = yes;
    } else {
        y = no;
    }
} else {
    x = no;
    y = no;
}
cond = x and y;
plot output = cond;
AddLabel(
    yes,
    if cond then "BUY" else "DONT BUY",
    if cond then COLOR.GREEN else COLOR.ORANGE
);

Join useThinkScript to post your question to a community of 21,000+ developers and traders.

Just wanted to say that I appreciated @lewac1 's post, and I can sympathize with the tone of it.