MTF Multi-TImeFrame Repainting Pitfalls

Solution
I saw somewhere someone has posted on how to avoid the repainting on the ToS. I am new to ToS, So I have no idea how to apply the below settings. I appreciate your help.

To avoid repainting, ToS recommends using the open of the next bar open[-1] for entry in strategies,
and use of the previous bar [1] for studies. Thereby, never experiencing repainting again!

If you are referring to 'real' repainters,
No, unfortunately, they cannot be made to not repaint.
read more:
https://usethinkscript.com/threads/answers-to-commonly-asked-questions.6006/#post-57833

If you are referring to a MTF indicator, yes, your solution will work. But as you can see from reading through the above posts, it is not a great solution.
The real...
Multi-TimeFrame indicators are scripts that reference a higher timeframe besides the current timeframe of your chart.
MTF indicators repaint because they reference the current higher timeframe candle which is updating on every tick until the candle closes; at which point, it will go back and repaint all the candles with the higher aggregation price that you requested.
This means on a 1min chart, the 5min candle with continually repaint for 5 bars until it closes and does its final repaint.

If you don't want the repainting, then reference the prior candle == price[1]
The prior candle is fully formed and closed thus no repainting.

The no-win choice with MTF indicators is:
Suffer the repainting and false signals with the use of the current candle
OR
Incur the lag built-into using the previous closed candle.

Most members choose repainting; as lag will make most indicators unprofitable.
I choose to run in the other direction from MTF indicators.

Last edited:
Hi all,