Making a 13 over 30 Crossover Scan

leonrossi

Hi All,
I'm new to thinkscript. I would like to create a scan to detect EMA 13 over 30 crossover on the hourly time frame in TOS. I would also like to incorporate the parameter of a stock in an uptrend or downtrend for about 2 weeks before they cross over. I have tried to do this in TOS but i do not get good results. The part that I struggle with is how to capture the stock either in an uptrend or downtrend for about 2 weeks. The idea behind this scan is to spot a momentum stock when it's reversing. Does anyone know how to do this? any help would be greatly appreciated.

Isn't max_bars_since_cross only for the right side of the cross-over? I.e. Bars since the 2 MAs crossed <= 7? I love that the code accommodates for this. Reducing it below 7 will impact the results but more to do with the right side of the cross-over vs the left which is what I am unable to solve for. Not sure if that makes sense?
I get what you're pointing out. I had to look at the code a bit to figure out what I did . . . So, (I'll use the cross down side as an example) what the code is doing is looking for a count of at least "X" amount of bars since previous cross up, regardless whether or not there has been a crossover down since; the count apparently does not reset until after a new cross upwards, when it starts counting from 1 again. What filters out the stocks from that point is the condition that there must have been a crossover downwards within 7 bars. Taking MPWR as an example, it has been at least 49 bars since the last crossover upwards; it also is within the 7 bars since the last crossover downwards, so it appears on the scan. I probably should revisit that code when I get time and try to make it better.

Join useThinkScript to post your question to a community of 21,000+ developers and traders.

@Pensar This is very impressive for swing trading imho.