Convert option symbol to underlying symbol ?

Popeious

Is it possible, using thinkscript to take an option position, and parse the underlying equity symbol from it... ?

I am primarily an options trader.

I would like to find a way to change the background color of a chart based on the position P/L being either positive or negative, but... I'm not watching the chart of the option, rather, I am watching the chart of the underlying.

So, as an example; I might have a June Expiry of AAPL (ie: .AAPL240621C180) on but I'm watching the AAPL chart on the 3m1d.

I want to change the background color of that chart to a light-red (hex color defined) if the equity position is at a loss of Loss%, but leave the default background color if the position has SomeProfit% profit, and change the background to a light-green (hex color defined) if the position is over SomeOtherProfit% profitable.

So, example;
Loss%: 50% (so if the loss is greater than 50% turn the background red)
(from -49.9$ to 49.9% the background is default color)
Profit%-A: 50% (if the profit exceed 50% but is less than 200%, set background to dark green)
Profit%-B: 200% (if the profit exceed 200%, set background to light green)

Maybe the script has to say... for the chart (use it's symbol), and see if there are any positions (options with this symbol and/or commons) and if so, figure out if the position is + or -... and based on a 'threshold/ percentage of profit or loss, and decide what color to paint the background .

Is this possible? Or is it a pipe-dream?

I suppose.. we then run into a problem, if there are multiple positions for the same symbol... like AAPL May 100's, June 110's, and AAPL common's. (unless you just add all positions together as a composite; or all options and all commons). But.. whatever.

I'm reviewing 'Conditional Backgrounds'
https://usethinkscript.com/threads/change-charts-background-based-on-thinkscript-condition.3611/