Conditional Order Tutorial For ThinkOrSwim

JohnZee

Hello,

I use Thinkorswim platform for trading Micro E-mini SPY futures and prices move quickly as you know. It's hard to manually close a position so most of the time I preset close orders but sometimes it's hard to catch the small move up. I am interested in scalping with a 1:1 ratio. So let's say if I buy /MES futures one contract for 4400, my position should close at 4397 or 4403. I would like to program this strategy so I can just attach it to a chart when I have an open position and if it reaches the conditions specified then it should close that opened position.

I am new to Thinkscript coding but am an experienced programmer, so hopefully can learn it quick. Is that possible just using this one line of code or do I need to add more code?

AddOrder(OrderType.SELL_TO_CLOSE, close > EntryPrice() + 3 or close < EntryPrice() - 3);

Thank you
John

I don't think any Thinkscript is required for what you just mentioned.

Since you want to reference the chart, you could leverage "Active Trader"
and use a TRG w/ Bracket" to enter your buy order, along with the corresponding sell orders.
If you turn on Auto-send, you can even submit the order without verification.

@ the Thinkorswim.com link below, there are some videos that might help.
References:
https://tlc.thinkorswim.com/center/howToTos/thinkManual/Trade/Active-Trader.html

The screenshots are for example (if this is what you're intending to do.)

KsqVKdk.png

ZLBdCPR.png

FGur5Qv.png

Hope this helps!

I can just attach it to a chart when I have an open position and if it reaches the conditions specified then it should close that opened position.
I mis-read your post. In your case, you already have the position open. In that case, you want this one:

OCO (one cancels other) Two orders are placed simultaneously; if one order is executed, the other is canceled.

Reference: https://tlc.thinkorswim.com/center/howToTos/thinkManual/Trade/Order-Entry-Tools/Order-Types