AGAIG Tutor: You Never Lose Money When You Take A Profit In ThinkOrSwim

csricksdds

Trader Educator
VIP
AGAIG TUTOR “YOU NEVER LOSE MONEY WHEN YOU TAKE A PROFIT”
A SHORT NUGGET TO PONDER?

You’re walking along a path, and you see a $20 Bill lying on the edge. No one is around to ask if it’s theirs. Do you pick it up or think “I’ll be back through here in a few minutes and if it’s still there I’ll pick it up?”

It makes me wonder why someone who has a decent profit on an options trade doesn’t take it when it’s lying there, instead of hoping there will be more there in a few minutes?

That’s what the 90% of traders who lose money do. It’s the 5-10% (the percent of option traders who make money) that take the easy profit lying there (begging to be picked up) instead of waiting for more!

One of the first lessons learned when I started trading options was:

I can’t lose a little money on each trade and make up for it with volume!

However, I could make a little bit on each trade and with a volume of easy trades it could turn out to be very profitable!

As Yogi Berra once said: “If you come to a fork in the road take it” or to say it my way: “if you come to a fork in the road (a change in direction) and there’s a $20 Dollar Bill lying there for Pete’s sake take it! $20 earned is far better than $2 lost.

What rate of return is your bank currently giving you on your money? A very small amount has been my experience. I have known traders who trade in/out for a mere 10%, 15% or 20% gain (I strive for 24% myself). These individuals put their trade in place with a GTC for the amount (gain) they are seeking and then watch it come true (but are smart enough to monitor it as well).