Adding a Background Flash with an Alert

becker908

I am an options day trader and one of the key indicators I use is a 9ema cross of 50ma on a five minute chart. I have ThinkScript that builds a cloud between the moving averages and sends an alert and draws a vertical line on the chart when the cross happens. I want the chart to flash - change background color - when the alert fires because I have a large screen with a dozen imbedded charts and I'd like to have a visual alert as well as the audible ring. The ThinkScript works like a charm except the AssignBackgroundColor command doesn't work on the upward cross. As I understand AssignBackgroundColor (and it works on the downward cross) it should fire and hold the new color for one bar cycle (five minutes in this case). Here's the code...

#----- EMA/SMA CROSSOVERS MAX ONLY
#-----MRB 210530

# Purpose: Display Cloud for fast moving average (9 periods) vs slow moving average (50 periods) and provide alerts for moving average crosses. Alert with vertical lines, audible alerts, and screen flash one bar after fast MA crosses slow MA on 5min chart.

#----- Define Variables
def price = close;
def fastL = 9;
def slowL = 50;
plot fastAvg = MovingAverage(AverageType.EXPONENTIAL, close, fastL);
plot slowAvg = MovingAverage(AverageType.SIMPLE, close, slowL);
def isCall = Crosses(fastAvg[1], slowAvg[1], CrossingDirection.ABOVE); #<---9MA crosses 50MA forming GreenCloud, Call buy signal
def isPut = Crosses(fastAvg[1], slowAvg[1], CrossingDirection.BELOW); #<---9MA crosses 50MA forming RedCloud, Put buy signal

#----- Define Look&Feel for moving averages
slowAvg.SetPaintingStrategy(PaintingStrategy.LINE); #<---Define L/F for M50
slowAvg.SetLineWeight(4);
fastAvg.SetLineWeight(2);

slowAvg.DefineColor("Up", Color.LIME); #<---Trend UP = Green, trend DOWN = RED, trend FLAT = WHITE
slowAvg.DefineColor("Down", Color.RED);
slowAvg.DefineColor("Flat", Color.WHITE);