Help with automatic stop loss line

Christopher84

VIP
Below is an example of what I am working with. I am new to thinkscript and doing my best to learn quickly. I am hoping to generate a stop loss line when my signal is triggered (similar to what is shown in the reversal indicator), however I do not want it to repaint. Any thoughts or suggestions to get me going in the right direction is very much appreciated.

Code:
#KELTNER

declare weak_volume_dependency;

input displace = 0;
input factor = 2.5;
input length = 20;
input price = open;
input averageType = AverageType.SIMPLE;
input trueRangeAverageType = AverageType.SIMPLE;

def shift = factor * MovingAverage(trueRangeAverageType, TrueRange(high, close, low), length);

def average = MovingAverage(averageType, price, length);

plot Avg = average[-displace];
Avg.SetDefaultColor(GetColor(1));

plot Upper_BandK1 = average[-displace] + shift[-displace];
Upper_BandK1.SetDefaultColor(GetColor(8));

plot Lower_BandK1 = average[-displace] - shift[-displace];
Lower_BandK1.SetDefaultColor(GetColor(5));

#def price1 = open [-1];

plot isBelow = price crosses below Upper_BandK1;
plot isAbove = price crosses above Lower_BandK1;

Last edited:
@Christopher84 Where would the stop loss lines be positioned...??? I don't recall there being stop loss lines in the other study but that's a moot point as we'll just focus on the code posted here...

I have also edited the bottom of your code to the following so the arrows paint properly...

Ruby:
plot isBelow = price crosses below Upper_BandK1;
isBelow.SetPaintingStrategy(PaintingStrategy.BOOLEAN_ARROW_DOWN);
isBelow.SetLineWeight(1);
isBelow.SetDefaultColor(Color.RED);

plot isAbove = price crosses above Lower_BandK1;
isAbove.SetPaintingStrategy(PaintingStrategy.BOOLEAN_ARROW_UP);
isAbove.SetLineWeight(1);
isAbove.SetDefaultColor(Color.GREEN);