Add Chart Label for Pre-Market/Regular Session & Afterhours

BobR

VIP
Hello - I just stumbled onto this forum and it is amazing based on what I've read so far. My only other exposure to coding is some basic formula creation in MetaStock. This is my first attempt at thinkscript and I'm trying to create a chart label to use on intraday and daily charts. To get an idea of the syntax for thinkscripting I started by using Copilot AI, and, although I didn't end up with the result I wanted (after lots of back and forth) it did get me started in the right direction.

You can skip to the end of this post (just prior to the code below) for a summary of what I'm hoping for).

I searched through the forum and found some discussions that touched on what I'm trying to do but didn't seem to contain exactly what I'm looking for. The label I'm trying to create (with some success so far) are two labels. I'd like to reflect Pre-market session then continue on into regular session in the first label showing latest price with net change in price from previous day closing price of regular session along with the associated percentage change. Once the regular session closes I'd like this first label to become static and continue showing the current day closing price of the regular session along with net change in price and percentage from close of previous day regular session.

I'd like the second label to show current afterhours price with net change in price from end of current day regular session closing price along with the associated percentage change (this portion seems to be working well).

During Pre-market and Regular session I'd like to have the afterhours label blacked out. Right now, afterhours label is only blacked out during pre-market session. I would like to also show best bid/ask price regardless of which session is currently open.