VWAP 5 MIN Scalp Strategy - Need Back Testing Help

W

willohara131

VIP
I've been trading this strategy for a about 2 months and just was curious on back testing the strategy to see results. It has worked pretty well since I've been using it. I normally get stopped on spike in volatility or news. I also use RSI for spotting divergence that helps confirm setups for high probability trades.

5 Min Chart /ES
Short Rules: If price is below the VWAP & Below 200 SMA, then when price touches VWAP enter short position with STOP 0.50 points above the ATR. Profit Target 1.5 points.
Long Rules: If Price is above VWAP & Above 200 SMA, then when touches VWAP enter long position with stop 0.50 points above ATR. Profit Target 1.5 Points.

Thanks,

A

adii800

I may not have time to backtest, but I have a suggestion for your strat.
You could also implement the slope of the 200 SMA into your trading strategy as to avoid false signals given off by a choppy market.
For example, including the clause of Slope of 200 SMA > 0 ie having a positive slope.

Here is the free code for the slope the SMA from https://tickertape.tdameritrade.com...average-thinkscript-stock-momentum-tool-15190:

Code:
 declare lower;
input length = 20;
input price = close;
input averageType = AverageType. SIMPLE;
def avg = MovingAverage(averageType, price, length);
def height = avg - avg[1];
plot “Angle, deg” = Atan(height/length) * 180 / Double.Pi;
“Angle, deg”.AssignValueColor (if “Angle, deg” >=0 then color.ORANGE else color.BLUE);
:)

W

willohara131

VIP