Trading Options In ThinkOrSwim

I'm brand new to options, wanted to start learning how to day trade options on a smaller time frames. Would there be a way to post a label on the chart showing the break even line or price for your current open options position? How about the profit/loss? Thanks if it's obvious, or even if it's not, did a search and couldn't come up with anything.

@lostcoastsurf I am not aware of any way to extrapolate and transpose the EntryPrice() of an Option onto the underlying Stocks chart... We don't have access to portfolio trade data... The correlation between the underlying and option is fairly complex and you don't buy the option at a specific underlying price, the transaction takes place totally separately... I run charts for both the stock and the option during trades, along with Active Trader for the option...

yuoK6JX.png

Last edited:
@lostcoastsurf I am not aware of any way to extrapolate and transpose the EntryPrice() of an Option onto the underlying Stocks chart... We don't have access to portfolio trade data... The correlation between the underlying and option is fairly complex and you don't buy the option at a specific underlying price, the transaction takes place totally separately... I run charts for both the stock and the option during trades, along with Active Trader for the option...
Thanks for the reply. How do you get the chart and AT for the option? Is that the contract ID or something?

Thanks for the reply. How do you get the chart and AT for the option? Is that the contract ID or something?

Right-Click on the Option in the Trade tab and select Copy <option symbol> and then Paste as the symbol in your Chart panel...

8VzqsHR.png

An alternate method is to Click on the symbol dropdown in your Chart panel, Click on the Options tab, enter the underlying symbol, and select your option from the condensed Option Chain...

sYO60gY.png