Buying Pressure For Tick Charts

tatl

i think you need to create a counter. i'm bad at coding. it would go something like this:

first define the last price:
def last = close(pricetype = PriceType.LAST);

begin counting BuyingVolume at 0 at the start of each new bar.

if last(0) was greater than last(1) , which means that price increased, add volume (0) to BuyingVolume.

just need someone to help me code this and do all the counting logic and stuff! not sure how

Solution
hope that helps.
-mashume
hi mashume thank you for your reply. i've written a genuine buy/sell/neutral volume indicator for use on the 1-tick chart that i'd love you to take a look at and possibly help me expand. i'm new to thinkscript and still learning but really want to expand this tool.

Code:
declare lower;
#--------------------
def last = close;
#this is just for conceptual clarity. on the 1-tick chart, the close is always the last.

#--------------------
#restrictive buying, selling, and neutral logic:

def buyingTrue = if last > last[1] then 1 else 0;
def sellingTrue = if last < last[1] then 1 else 0;
def neutralTrue = if last == last[1] then 1 else 0;

#--------------------
# buy/sell/neutral volume / plots

plot buyingVol = if buyingTrue == 1 then volume else 0;
buyingVol.SetPaintingStrategy(PaintingStrategy.HISTOGRAM);
buyingvol.setdefaultcolor(color.GREEN);

plot sellingVol = if sellingTrue == 1 then volume else 0;
sellingVol.SetPaintingStrategy(PaintingStrategy.HISTOGRAM);
sellingvol.setdefaultcolor(color.RED);

plot neutralVol = if neutralTrue == 1 then volume else 0;
neutralVol.SetPaintingStrategy(PaintingStrategy.HISTOGRAM);
neutralvol.setdefaultcolor(color.GRAY);

the basic idea is that if the last trade raised the last price at all, it's volume is counted as buying. if the last trade lowered the last price, it's volume is counted as selling, and if the last trade didn't move the last price, it's volume is counted as neutral.