Bollinger Band Script

hrd

I'm very new to thinkscript but have tons of experience coding for TradeStation. I am trying to convert a study to thinkscript.

plot my_pos_1 = my_upper_boll > my_upper_boll [1]
and my_middle_boll > my_middle_boll [1]
and my_lower_boll > my_lower_boll [1];

plot my_neg_1 = my_upper_boll < my_upper_boll [1]
and my_middle_boll < my_middle_boll [1]
and my_lower_boll < my_lower_boll [1];

I tried using the reserved word def to give value to my_pos_1 but I have four different scenarios which can take place, and using a case statement or if statement was not working out well for four scenarios when it meant four different plot statements, and I could not get a single plot statement to work either in a case or in an if. I suppose the only conditional test is like this, from one of the canned indicators:

plot "ZZT$" = if state == state.uptrend and !IsNan(close) then 1 else if state == state.downtrend and !IsNan(close) then -1 else Double.NaN;

Could not code that right either.

So I ended up trying the plot statement in the code above, but that gives me four plots when I can get by with one or two.

Another issue is I am trying to display this as a histogram, where the the positive test above would generate a green histogram going from 0 up to 1, while the negative test above would generate a red histogram going from 0 down to -1. However, my_pos_1 appears to come out as 1, and it's the same with my_neg_1. Comes out as 1. Boolean. I have tried multiplying by -1 but no success. Furthermore, I should be able to change my_pos_1 to anything I want it to be. This is really a simple indicator which I could do in my sleep in TradeStation.