Another isNAN() question

sevensa

Hi

I'm still quite new to ThinkScript and TOS in general and I am trying to understand isNAN() function. I see there are a couple of examples and questions, but I am still not quite sure about something.

I do understand that this is used to check if a parameter value is a number or not. Where my confusion come in is when I look at the example here:

https://tlc.thinkorswim.com/center/reference/thinkScript/Functions/Math---Trig/IsNaN

specifically, the first line line under Example1 from the link above:
Code:
def onExpansion = if IsNaN(close) then yes else no;
plot HighestClose = if onExpansion then HighestAll(close) else double.NaN;
plot LowestClose = if onExpansion then LowestAll(close) else double.NaN;

My question is, under what circumstances would IsNaN(close) not be number?

Solution
Hi

I'm still quite new to ThinkScript and TOS in general and I am trying to understand isNAN() function. I see there are a couple of examples and questions, but I am still not quite sure about something.

I do understand that this is used to check if a parameter value is a number or not. Where my confusion come in is when I look at the example here:

https://tlc.thinkorswim.com/center/reference/thinkScript/Functions/Math---Trig/IsNaN

Code:

My question is...
Hi

Code:

My question is, under what circumstances would IsNaN(close) not be number?

trying to read a price, when no price data exists, results in an error , nan

-------------------------------

get in the habit of trying to use addchartbubble() to display variable values, it will help you understand what the formulas are doing.
https://tlc.thinkorswim.com/center/reference/thinkScript/Functions/Look---Feel/AddChartBubble

when \n is used, it forces data after it to appear on a new text line, in the bubble.
i tend to use + "\n" + out of habit.
this line,
"close" + "\n" +
could have been written as,
"close\n" +

--------------------------